Made in America


Date: Sunday, June 5, 2022  |  Time: 7:30 pm

Location: Laudamus Auditorium, Canadian Mennonite University (CMU)
500 Shaftesbury Blvd., Winnipeg

Online Option: Viewable Tuesday, June 7, 2022 at 7:30 pm

We open Agassiz 2022 with a celebration of music composed in the United States. Afro-American composers George Walker and Jessie Montgomery (current Composer-in-Residence of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra), alongside American icons Steve Reich, Philip Glass and ragtime pianist/composer William Bolcom, together offer us a tour of 20th and 21st century American styles. Our evening is rounded off by the delightful String Quintet in Eb by celebrated Czech composer Antonin Dvorak, composed while summering in Spillville, Iowa.

Jessie Montgomery - Smoke, from Strum

Steve Reich - Clapping Music

Philip Glass - Piano Quintet

Dvorak - String Quintet in Eb

Tickets are available for the in-person concert or for online viewing via YouTube.